Book of John – Bible Verses for Inspiration

As I was reading the book of John, I thought about the beauty contained in the book and about how many inspirational verses are found in John. I share five verses here that really inspire me from the book of John. If you are looking for inspiration, I hope you will find some in these Bible verses.

First Inspirational Bible Verse

John 1 In the beginning was the Word, the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

I love this verse. It takes us back to the beginning of creation. When we read further in John 1, we know that the Word is Jesus. He was in the beginning, He was with God, and He was God. The Word is not the same as the Father, but He is equal with the Father.

Genesis 1:1 says that in the beginning God created the heavens and earth. The Word was in the beginning and the heavens and earth were spoken into existence. In Genesis 1:26, God says let us make man in our image. Angels were not made in God’s image so who was the us? There is a lot in this one small verse that takes us back to the beginning and says a lot about Jesus, the Word made flesh.

Second Inspirational Verse

John 6:35 Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; he who comes to Me will not hunger, and he who believes in Me will never thirst.

As the Jewish leaders refer to the manna that God provided to the Israelites when they were in the wilderness, Jesus speaks of the true bread that gives life to the world. Jesus is the true bread that has come down from heaven. These are true words of life. I like the idea of never hungering or going thirsty. Security is important to me and food and drink are true necessities in life, but I like the idea of the eternal security even better.

Third Inspirational Bible Verse

John 8:12 Then Jesus again spoke to them, saying, “I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life.”

Jesus again hits on another basic item for life and that is light. What kind of world would it be if there were no light, but only darkness all the time? I like the idea of having that Light of life and not walking in darkness. I praise the Lord that I have the Light.

Fourth Inspirational Bible Verse

John 14:3 “If I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself, that where I am, there you may be also.

In John 14:2, Jesus speaks of going to prepare a place and in verse three, He speaks of His return. I believe that Jesus will return for His bride, the church and she will return to Him to that place that He has prepared. This verse is inspirational to me because I want to be where He is and I believe He is returning for me.

The language in John 14:2-3 is reminiscent of the ancient Jewish marriage custom where the groom would go and prepare a place for his bride. The bride would make herself ready for the groom’s return, but she did not know the exact time when he would return for her. We in the same way do not know when Jesus will return, but we make ourselves ready.

Fifth Inspirational Bible Verse

John 20:29 Jesus *said to him, “Because you have seen Me, have you believed? Blessed are they who did not see, and yet believed.”

What a blessing it must have been to see Jesus in the flesh when He was on earth, but I am so encouraged that Jesus says there is a special blessing for the ones who believe even though they have not seen Him. Those are inspirational words to me. I have not yet seen Him, but I will one day. That truth is what gets me through my hard times.

The book of John has some wonderfully inspirational Bible verses. John brings out truths and teachings of Jesus that are not included in the other Gospels. The book of John is beautifully written and truly inspirational. I hope you will be inspired by this handful of Bible verses from John and by the book of John as a whole. There is a reason that John is often the first book that people are encouraged to read who have never read the New Testament or even the Bible as a whole.

Sources
“Scripture taken from the NEW AMERICAN STANDARD BIBLE(R), Copyright (C) 1960,1962,1963,1968,1971,1972,1973,1975,1977,1995 by The Lockman Foundation. Used by permission.”

“God’s Appointed Customs” Barney Kasdan, Messianic Jewish Resources International (June 1996)

© Faithful Devotionals 2014. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Faithful Devotionals with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

