Who is God? Bible Verses about God

There have been studies on the names of God, but I was curious about verses that describe God. He is the God of love, but there are other ways to describe Him. God cannot be described in just a few words. He is described  as a God of love, comfort, and so much more.

When I was studying Greek and Hebrew, we focused a lot on grammar and one thing I learned about was the genitive or construct case. Many times in English, it can be translated with a noun and the word “of.” An example of this using God is the “God of” Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. It says something about God that He is the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. Another example is God of love.

I was curious to do a search of the phrase “God of” in the Bible. I included 30 Bible verses here that describe God. Much can be learned about who the God of the Bible is by looking at Bible verses that contain the phrase “God of.” Here are some verses I found in the Bible to describe God.

Bible Verses about God
1. God of heaven and God of earth (Genesis 24:3
2. God of Israel (Exodus 5:1)
3. God of the spirits of all flesh (Numbers 16:22)
4. God of gods (Deuteronomy 10:17)
5. God of faithfulness (Deuteronomy 32:4)
6. God of knowledge (1 Samuel 2:3)
7. God of hosts (2 Samuel 5:10)
8. God of our salvation (1 Chronicles 16:35)
9. God of Jerusalem (2 Chronicles 32:19)
10. God of forgiveness (Nehemiah 9:17)
11. God of my righteousness (Psalms 4:1)
12. God of my salvation (Psalms 18:46)
13. God of glory (Psalms 29:3)
14. God of truth (Psalms 31:5)
15. God of my life (Psalms 42:8)
16. God of my strength (Psalms 43:2)
17. God of deliverances (Psalms 68:20)
18. God of vengeance (Psalms 94:1)
19. God of my praise (Psalms 109.1)
20. God of justice (Isaiah 30:18)
21. God of all flesh (Jeremiah 32:27)
22. God of recompense (Jeremiah 51:46)
23. God of the living (Matthew 12:27)
24. God of Jews, God of Gentiles (Romans 3:29)
25. God of hope (Romans 15:13)
26. God of peace (Romans 15:33)
27. God of all comfort (2 Corinthians 1:13)
28. God of love (2 Corinthians 13:11)
29. God of all grace (1 Peter 5:10)
30. God of the spirits of the prophets (Revelation 22:6)

I hope you will take some time to study these Bible verses that contain wonderful descriptions of God. Perhaps this will supplement any study on the names of God. Who is God? He is the God of everything. I find much reassurance in the fact that He is the God of love, comfort, and hope. He is the God of my salvation. That is the greatest gift I could receive.

Leave a Reply

