Prayers of the Righteous

I have no shortage of prayers that I make to God on my own behalf, but when I pray for others, I have an extra concern for effective prayers. A passage of Scripture that often crosses my mind is James 5:16 when it says that the prayers of a righteous man can accomplish much. What this says to me is that my daily walk with God has an effect on my prayers for others and myself. It tells me what I have to do to have a more powerful prayer life.

This motivates me to live the best life that I can live. When I pray for others, I most certainly want those prayers to be answered at least as much if not more than my own personal prayers. If I am walking in a way that hinders that, I need to change. I really do want to be a prayer warrior.

Another passage that strengthens my conviction that right or wrong living is tied to effective prayer is in 1 Peter 3:7. Peter warns that a man’s prayers can be hindered if he does not treat his wife well. I think that is a strong admonishment that should not be ignored. I don’t doubt that a wife’s prayers can be hindered as well.

In my life, as I am sure with many others, there is so much pain and so much need for powerful prayers. I believe in prayer and I want my prayers to be as effective as they can be. If the prayers of a righteous man can accomplish much, how much more the prayers of 1000 men and women?

If I need a reason to repent of my sins and get on track with God, it really is all those needs of the people in my life. When I pray for them, I want it to matter. When I am tempted to stray away from the straight and narrow, it is the prayers of all those in need that can keep me on track. The best way that I can have an effective prayer life is righteous living that honors and pleases God.

Leave a Reply

